Bullied Into Blogging

Last year I narrowly avoided the pencil jeans craze and am stepping clear of the Daisy Duke short-shorts phenomena of 2009. However, I was the first and only one to own a red faux-leather Michael Jackson Thriller jacket in elementary school. Sometimes I am ahead of the crowd and sometimes I choose to avoid from what I presume will be a bubblegum fad or a phase. Like Facebook, I would have bet a lot of Monopoly money that it would become Phasebook, so I was the very last to join the social media ranks. Previous to that, I was the last to get an email address, despite my brother having our family connected by dial-up back in 1993.

I’ll blame it on my parents. We were the last family in southwestern Ontario to buy a microwave. And a VCR? That purchase took years (during which we rented a VCR from Jungle Video for the weekend, and my father spent two hours, mostly exasperated, connecting the machine to our console TV). I never did learn how to program the VCR because a very wise part of me knew that it would go away. The DVD will as well (hello Blue-ray!), so it doesn’t make sense to become well-versed with the settings and features now. My 4MP digital camera of 2005 is already a museum exhibit which I will display next to my cell phone of 2000 which is as big as a rolling pin.

Should I confess that I’ve never sent a text message? Oh, the humiliation! I don’t think I’ve even bothered to figure out the necessary keys to make a happy or sad face out of apostrophes and parantheses. But, the time has come for me to blog. Rona Maynard, former editor of Chatelaine told me so. And what does she know? Well, when it comes to anything literary, writerly or necessary, she would be the woman I would choose to represent me for the Double Jeopardy question in any of those categories.

 “You really MUST have a blog (I say for the hundred and 99th time).”

–Rona Maynard, April 25th, 2009

In May, when Rona roams around China possibly eating frog eyeballs and chicken testicles, I will be featured as a guest post on her website www.ronamayard.com. This post has prodded me to enter the jungle of blogging because as Rona said, how would her readers find me otherwise? Where could they go to read more of me?

In the last few months I have read three books that have stemmed from blogs: Julie & Julia by Julie Powell, The 100-Mile Diet—Alisa Smith and J.B. Mackinnon and Petite Anglaise by Catherine Sanderson. I have come to realize the power of love (thanks to Celine Dion), and the power of blogs in a society that has a hunger for the latest and greatest (preferably in word economy format that Twitter allows)with the immediacy of ordering a tall, no-fat latte.

Julie Powell’s humble blog about creating 524 Julia Child recipes in 365 days evolved into a movie starring Meryl Streep. For Smith and Mackinnon, who originally chronicled their attempts to eat local on theTyee.ca, their blog boiled into a Food Network series: The 100-Mile Challenge. The couple can now lean back and watch the exasperation as six Canadian families endure 100 days minus daily vices like coffee, tea, chocolate, olive oil and sugar.

For Catherine Sanderson, the Brit blogger living in Paris, fame came when she pink-slipped from her job at Dixon Wilson Chartered Accountants, due to her blogging activity. Her employer must be still frothing to know that canning Sanderson directly led to her publishing deal and first book. The initial gross misconduct charge was altered to “dismissal for real and serious cause—breakdown of trust.” The Petite Anglaise blogger was anonymous until press interest leaked her name. Sanderson’s complaint in court earned her a tidy sum of 44,000 euros plus legal costs and a two-book deal with Penguin Books.

As I begin this blog, I wonder where it will all lead to. Possibly getting fired if I don’t get a move on here and get ready for my real job. Don’t think Penguin will issue me a book deal for that.

with-latteAnd here I go.

Categories: Polyblogs in a Jar, The Kitchen Sink | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Bullied Into Blogging

  1. First Blog and you’ve got a beer in your hand. I’d say you’re off to a great start AND – it’s about time you shared your writing with a broader audience (or and audience of broads).

    Nice piece 🙂

  2. jules09

    It’s actually a latte from The Bulldog off Church street–but the espresso in it packs the dizziness and wallop of about four beers.

    Thanks for being a vocal part of the broadening horizons.

  3. Dee

    What’s with ‘jules09’? Will you be ‘jules10’ next year?

    Do we ever get to see a photo where you’re not hiding your face? One of you as a youngster in your Michael Jackson Thriller jacket would be cool.

    I’d sure like to know how Pamela included the sunny little happy face in her response – compose elsewhere and copy/paste?

    Okay. That’s enough heckling for one response. Way to go, Jules. This could be the beginning of something big and I’ll be able to say, “I knew her when…”

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

